Cookie, Privacy & Data Storage Details

Back in the day, the View GPX page used to upload GPX files to my server for processing and keep them there for a short period before deleting them. That is no longer the case, and all the old server-held files have been deleted. The View GPX page now processes your GPX files locally on your device.

However, if you view a British GPX file in an OS map, then the latitude and longitude data inside your GPX file is sent to my server to have accurate OS Terrain 50 elevation data added to it. This data is entirely anonymous—it has nothing personally identifiable in it, no file name, no track or route name, no metadata of any sort, and is immediately deleted after the elevation data has been obtained.

Also, if you choose to save your line style preferences when viewing GPX files on maps, a cookie is created to remember your choice of line colour, width, and opacity. The cookie lasts for 30 days. If you view another GPX track within that period, the cookie will be extended for another 30 days. After 30 days of inactivity, the cookie will expire.

None of the features above store any personally identifiable information, and there are no trackers of any sort in the site code. However, I do maintain a web server log of page hits and visitor data so that I can keep an eye on my web server load and usage trends.